

## TENTH DISTRICT CAUCUS MEETING MINUTES Hilton Orlando, Orlando Florida October 9, 2023

The 10th District caucus was called to order at 7:30 a.m. by caucus Chair, Dr. Rosalie Perpich. Dr. Perpich declared a quorum present.

Along with Dr. Scott Morrison those present were delegates and alternates: Drs. Alejandro Aguirre, Tom Alexander, Brad Anderson, Chris Bogue, Jay Crossland, Amber Cziok, Geetha Damodaran, Otto Dohm, Kami Dornfeld, Michael Frankman, Rick Fuchs, Ryan Hajek, Tim Holland, Seth Huiras, Brian Kim, Carolyn Larsen, James Larsen, Stephen McDonnell, James Nickman, John Noack, Rosalie Perpich, Aruna Rao, Clark Stanford, Sara Stuefen, Loren Taple, Scott Wagnild, Deb West, and Emily Willett.

Executive Directors: Carmelo Cinqueonce (MN), Paul Knecht (SD), David O'Doherty (NE), and William Sherwin (ND).

Association Staff: Whitney Bey, MDA, and Josh Carpenter, IDA Guests present included: Dr. Jessica Meeske

Motion by Dr. Brad Anderson second by Dr. Tim Holland, to approve the minutes of the October 7, 2023, caucus meeting. Motion carried.

Dr. Scott Morrison briefly addressed the orders of the day. He encouraged the delegation to engage in discussion today.

Mr. Carmelo Cinqueonce updated the delegation on the schedule of visitors to the delegation over the course of the meeting.

Dr. Deb West presented resolutions on Budget, Business, Membership, and Administrative Matters. She reviewed the Consent Calendar, including: 201, 202, 203RC, 204, 205, 206, 207, 208, 209B, 210RC, 211, 212RC, 214, 215, 217 and 218. Non-Consent Resolutions discussed included: 213 and 216.

At 8:30 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA President-Elect Candidate, Dr. Susan Doroshow.

At 8:45 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA Second Vice President Candidate, Dr. Jay Freedman.

Dr. Kami Dornfeld presented resolutions on Dental Benefits, Practice, and Related Matters. She reviewed the Consent Calendar, including resolutions: 301RC, 302, 303RC, 304RC, 305RC, 306RC, 307RC, 308RC, 309, 310RC, 311, 312, 313, and 315.

At 9:00 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA President-Elect Candidate, Dr. Craig Armstrong.

Dr. Jay Crossland presented resolutions on Dental Education, Science, and Related Matters. He reviewed resolutions on the Consent Calendar, including: 401, 402, 403, 404, 405, 408RC and 409.

Dr. Tim Holland presented resolutions on Legislative, Health, Governance, and Related Matters. He reviewed resolutions on the Consent Calendar, including: 501, 503 (discussion paused for visits regarding resolution 305, the Dental Compact, Drs. Shepley and Edgar, and Dr. del Valle Sepulveda, as outlined below), 504S-1, 505, 507, 508, 509, 510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 516RC, 517, and 518RC. Non-Consent resolutions discussed included: 506.

At 10:40 a.m. Dr. Krishna Aravamudhan (ADA Staff), from CADP, addressed the delegation regarding questions on Medicare pertaining to resolution 305.

At 11:05 a.m. the delegation heard from the ADA team, including Mr. Chad Olson and Mr. Matt Rossetto, to address the Dental Compact.

At 11:25 a.m. Dr. George Shepley, ADA President, and Dr. Linda Edgar, ADA President-Elect, addressed the delegation. Dr. Edgar invited any ADA member to reach out to her with any questions or concerns.

At 11:30 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA Second Vice President candidate, Dr. Edwin A. del Valle-Sepúlveda.

The delegation discussed resolutions 208, 218, 305, 401, 503, and 504, with the expectation that they may be pulled off the Consent Calendar.

The delegation identified resolutions requiring statements from the 10th District. The delegation discussed resolution 515 and it was decided that a statement was not required.

At 12:45 p.m. the delegation heard from Dr. Robert Butler, ADA Second Vice President candidate.

The delegation discussed the need for a virtual pre-caucus meeting in 2024. Dr. Scott Morrison introduced a motion to hold such a meeting which was seconded by Dr. Stephen McDonnell. The date was not finalized but will be in late September or early October of 2024. The next in-person 10th District Caucus Meeting is on Saturday, October 19, 2024, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The delegation welcomed Dr. Debra Finney and Dr. Gary Ackerman from the 13th District to discuss their opposition to resolution 506. The delegation also welcomed Dr. Mark Donald, Speaker of the House, to discuss and answer questions regarding parliamentary procedure, as it pertains to resolution 506.

At 2:10 p.m. the delegation heard from Dr. Brett Kessler, President-Elect Candidate.

Dr. Perpich announced that Nebraska would host the caucus meeting next year. Dr. Deb West will serve as the caucus chair. Dr. Otto Dohm nominated Dr. Brad Anderson to serve as vice chair, he was elected by consent. Dr. Deb West nominated Mr. David O'Doherty to serve as secretary, he was elected by consent. Dr. Scott Morrison provided closing remarks.

The delegation discussed the best way to communicate with each other during the voting process tomorrow. They agreed the best course of action was to communicate inter-state by text message and disseminate information from there, but to look into alternate communication methods for next year. Dr. Seth Huiras gave information on "checking in" to vote, and the voting process for ADA elections.

There being no further business it was moved by Dr. Alejandro Aguirre and seconded by Dr. Amber Cziok that the caucus adjourn.

Respectfully Submitted, Carmelo Cinqueonce Secretary to the Caucus